- MORE ACTORS -

Jitt Nick

In a way Nick started dancing as an escape from daily life, where he was working as a youth counselor and graduating creative therapy classes. For years Nick wanted to dance LindyHop – and finally gave his life that spin.

Hyperactively, he started taking dance courses, combining schools and going to social dances like a maniac. Passing through, projects popped up. Opportunities to train hard, teach, perform and compete came his way.

Learning Lindy Hop should be fun and has not a lot to do with multitude of complicated steps. Do what you feel, be dynamic and keep that flow. Unorthodox and theatrical… what did you expect?

Nick is part of the Brussels performance group Jazz Maniacs.

© cf. Nick

 

Joren Baraka VAN EYKEN

Asking Joren when he started dancing is like asking someone when they started breathing. However, it was clearly in his teenage years that he really started to be identified as a dancer. Around the age of 12, he discovered the culture of African-American music and dance, and thus, jazz. Born in East Africa and having grown up in Western Europe, he is very interested in the connection between the African diaspora and culture in Africa. Soul, Blues, Jazz, Funk, Hip Hop and various African dances make his home. When the revival of Swing took an even bigger dimension at the end of the first decade of this century, he embarked on it with great enthusiasm. Dancer, organizer, performer, teacher, inspiration, ... It is not the performances, the competitions, nor the "vintage" attributes that are important to him. It is really the social dances, the live music, the original spirit and the deep roots of this oral tradition ...

© cf. Joren Baraka VAN EYKEN

 

©2020 History of Jazz Get Together. All Rights Reserved.

Event POSTPONED due to the pandemic. New dates TBA. 

Click here to stay updated.

  • Facebook - Gris Cercle

- PLUS D'INTERVENANTS -

Jitt Nick

Nick commença à danser pour échapper à la vie quotidienne, où il travaillait comme conseiller de jeunesse tout en se formant à la thérapie créative.
Pendant des années, Nick avait voulu danser le Lindy Hop. Finalement, il donna enfin cette tournure à sa vie. Et plutôt intensément ! Il commença à suivre des cours, à combiner les écoles, et à se rendre à des soirées de danse sociale, de manière quasi-frénétique. Ainsi animé, des projets commencèrent à surgir.
S'entrainant infatigablement, des opportunités d'enseigner, de performer et de participer à des compétitions se présentèrent à lui, et  continuent de se multiplier aujourd'hui.

Selon lui, apprendre le Lindy Hop devrait être amusant et ne consiste pas en la récitation d’une multitude de passes compliquées. Il s'agit de faire ce que l’on ressens, d'être dynamique, et de vivre et entretenir le flow.

Peu orthodoxe et théâtral,  voici Jitt Nick!
Nick fait partie de la troupe de performance bruxelloise Jazz Maniacs.

© cf. Nick

 

Joren Baraka VAN EYKEN

Demander à Joren quand il a commencé à danser, revient à demander à quelqu’un quand il a commencé à respirer. Pourtant, c'est clairement dans son adolescence que l’on a vraiment commencé à l'identifier comme danseur. Vers ses 12 ans, il découvre la culture de la musique et de la danse Afro-Américaine, et ainsi, le jazz. Né en Afrique de l'Est et ayant grandi en Europe du Ouest, il s'intéresse fort à la connection de la diaspora africaine et la culture en Afrique. Soul, Blues, Jazz, Funk, Hip-Hop et diverses danses africaines sont son chez-lui. Quand le revival du Swing redouble d’ampleur à la fin de la première décennie de cette siècle, il s'engage là-dedans avec grand enthousiasme. Danseur, organisateur, performer, enseignant, inspiration,… Ce ne sont pas les performances, les competitions, ni les attributs "vintage" qui lui tiennent à coeur. Ce sont plutôt les danses sociales, la musique live, l'esprit original et les racines profondes de cette tradition orale...

© cf. Joren Baraka VAN EYKEN

 

©2020 History of Jazz Get Together. All Rights Reserved.

Evenement REPORTÉ du fait de la pandémie actuelle. Nouvelle dates à venir.  Cliquer ici pour être tenu au courant

  • Facebook - Gris Cercle